A Networked Society: Wk 7

It has taken me at least one year to buy myself a camera. It is not as though I have been without a camera for a year it is just that I am attached to my heavy duty, manual based  Spotmatic Pentax camera. In order shoot a photo using my camera, you must lift the camera to your eyes, focus the lens towards the picture and shoot. Now with my new Olympus digital camera, I am able to take photos in a variety of ways. However, I did not purchase a digital camera for the purpose of snapping images. Rather, I purchased one for ‘file-sharing’ reasons, to e-mail, and upload my photographs to family and friends both in Sydney and overseas.  Long gone are the days, where you’d take out a photo album around the coffee table.

As Dylan states ‘Times They are Changing.’ I am constantly on the road, and sometimes, if I don’t have my digital camera, I use my mobile phone if I find something strange, unusual or that I like on the spot. I then snap it and forward it to a friend that I think, may also find it interesting via WiFi technology. When I get home I tend to then upload my photos on Flickr, and Facebook. I also sometimes skim through other photos on these websites that friends have forwarded to me that are of interest, and spend a few hours on end using this concept of a ‘Network Media’ to connect and also personalize my world. This is an example where concepts such as costomization, personalization, individualization, mobility, interactivity, and engagement are explored in articles on Media Networks; in particular it is explored in Terea Rizzo’s paper, “Programming your own Channel,” of which I will be refering to in this post.

I have to start embracing or more precisely, using digital technologies around me. Reading Rizzo’s article I admit, I have become more aware of the idea of ‘productive engagement,’ especially with the Foxtel IQ, PDR systems. Furthermore, Rizzo used three cases to demonstrate a the idea of network societies. Foxtel IQ, YouTube and Ipods are the mediums explored, that demonstrate how playlists are created by consumers. One argument is that “by creating a playlist of personal viewing choices, scheduling, and programming is taken out of the hands of the programmer and into the hands of the viewer. (p112)” I don’t actually have an Ipod, but occassionally I’d use my sisters Ipod. I use the Ipod for mobility purposes (dowloading CDs onto Ipod, and into my pocket), rather than networking with Itunes, clicking through songs and file sharing. Having said this, Rizzo argues that, “customisation and personalisation go hand in hand with mobility in relation to the Ipod, and ( furthers this idea of networking by stating that,) while the Ipod may need an internet connection for downloading programs, once downloaded they can be viewed anywhere without a connection.(p.116)”

Another arguement that is essential in Rizzo’s paper is based on the everyday life and how it has changed from a broadcasting, temporal concept to a more spatial, flexible way of life enabled through networks.  This is mostly evident with the case study that Rizzo outlines on Foxtel IQ. She states an interesting point that, “PDRs, such as IQ and TiVo, (are interesting for their) ability to time shift (which) encourages viewing practices that are vastly different from broadcast television’s appointment-based or temporal mode of viewing. (p110)” Essentially the  there is a shift from a temporal mode of viewing to a spatial mode of viewing. This concept is also supported through an arguement based on the way new media flows, via creating playlists. She argues that, “instead of relying on a notion of flow that is defined by a one-way process that draws audiences into its stream, what is required is a theory of flow that can account for an interactive and productive engagement. (p121)” The entire article enduces these concepts of networking digital technologies, with the user. The consumer, using these technologies, has the ability to personalise their content to their preferences. I am recently using RSS feeds to personalise my content, and am able to keep up to date with regular updates, from both my friends’ pages, and informative sources. Furthermore, I now use delicious, where I can learn, and share new websites/bookmarks that are of interest to me. I also keep in touch with the world through newsvine. These are taken for granted technologies that we network with, use, recieve information and that has thus shifted our notion of daily time, to a concept of “spatial modes of viewing”.

Rizzo, Teresa. “Prgramming Your Own Channel: An archaeology of the Playlist.” In Kenyon, Andrew Ed. TV Futures: Digital Television Policy in Australia. Carlton, VIC: Melbourne University Press, 2007 108-134.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

